Let's Talk Cliffhangers...

Discussion in 'All Things LitRPG' started by Paul Bellow, May 15, 2017.

?

What About Cliffhangers?

1. Love 'em!

3 vote(s)
    30.0%
  2. Hate 'em!

3 vote(s)
    30.0%
  3. Meh.

3 vote(s)
    30.0%
  4. Stop stealing my gold, you scoundrels!

1 vote(s)
    10.0%
  1. Paul Bellow

Paul Bellow Forum Game Master Staff Member LitRPG Author Shop Owner Citizen Aspiring Writer

100%
    xp:
    Zone:
    Midwest, US
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    Love 'em? Hate 'em? And "why" on both accounts.

Ready, steady, go!

Seriously, though, as a writer, I like using them at the end of chapters to keep readers moving through the book. Time is so valuable these days, so when I have a reader's attention, I like to try to keep it.

Cliffhangers at the end of books, however, are another matter. What's that saying about always leave them wanting more? The problem, I think, comes when there's too much time between releases.

Of course, many readers think even one day is TOO LONG if they're waiting on an author they love. I tend to stay away from huge cliffies at the end of my books, but I'd love to hear thoughts from others.

2. Jenny Haviland

Jenny Haviland Level 5 (Veteran) Citizen

40%
    xp:
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    I hate authors who leave books on cliffhangers, can maybe forgive it happening once in a series but not doing it constantly.

Even if a book is part of a series I like to feel a sense of completion when i finish a book and cliffhangers take away that sense of completion.

Paul Bellow likes this.
  3. Paul Bellow

Paul Bellow Forum Game Master Staff Member LitRPG Author Shop Owner Citizen Aspiring Writer

100%
    xp:
    Zone:
    Midwest, US
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    Yeah, after the climax you need (imho) a comedown period and sense of completion at the very end with maybe a hint of what's to come in the next book.

4. Jason

Jason Troll Lord Roleplaying Shop Owner Beta Reader Citizen Aspiring Writer

62%
    xp:
    LitCoin: