Stay a while and listen...

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by kchilds, Jun 9, 2018.

1. kchilds

kchilds Elven Mystic LitRPG Author Roleplaying Beta Reader Citizen Aspiring Writer

72%
    xp:
    Zone:
    Australia
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    Hi folks,

My name is Kristy and I'm a writer of 18 years. My debut gaslamp novel is coming out with Filles Vertes Publishing (small press) in a few months/early next year and between book 2 and 3 for that series I am writing a LitRPG novel.... despite 2 weeks of research on a totally different topic. Apparently it sort of 'snuck in' under my creative radar and hijacked my muse. I've offered it words, but it's ever so hungry.

I am probably going to query this LitRPG novel instead of self-publishing (I just really don't have the funds or dedicated hours in the day for marketing levels for self-pub) but I am very happy to plunge into the community and learn about the ways of this very warm and welcoming society. I've been secretly stalking pet-peeves on facebook, learning your ways.

I am a second-generation table-top gamer, grew up mainly with AD&D (yes, I'm a THAC0 veteran, I've seen things man... I've seen things) and vampire the masquerade when I was a wee kid. And early generation otaku- I think my first litRPG was probably .Hack//Sign I have probably seen or read most stuff in the genre from manga/manwha/manha side of things. It's the English art side I'm actually playing catch ups with!

I prefer adult over YA novels, so a lot of the litRPG stuff hasn't tickled my interest because I'm very, very picky with YA.