Complete Noob Request...

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Hondo Jinx, Feb 23, 2018.

1. Hondo Jinx

Hondo Jinx Level 7 (Cutpurse) LitRPG Author Citizen

78%
    xp:
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    All right. I figure you guys are either going to be really cool about this or maybe this is where I blow my cover, and you see me as an impostor and lock me in a vat of rot grubs.

I'm a lifelong player (and DM) of AD&D. I've never played an electronic RPG. Not one. Or really many electronic games, save for old arcade games, Tekken, and, perhaps strangely, the PS3 Move game, The Fight. Oh, okay, I confess - and I've embarrassed myself, playing Just Dance with my wife and daughter.

Put away the knives, please.

So this is probably the opposite of normal progression, but my obsession with LitRPG has made me really curious about electronic RPGs. I can't play first-person type stuff because it gives me motion sickness. I have a PC and a PS3, and I know that there are online games / streaming services.

Any suggestions? Warnings? I'd really appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

Alexis Keane and Paul Bellow like this.
  2. Viergacht

Viergacht Thunderdragon LitRPG Author Roleplaying Beta Reader Citizen Aspiring Writer

94%
    xp:
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    Hey, I am like 99.9% an old school paper and pencil player too!

Alexis Keane and Hondo Jinx like this.
  3. Hondo Jinx

78%
    xp:
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    Outstanding! Old School players unite!

Alexis Keane likes this.
  4. CheshirePhoenix

CheshirePhoenix Crazy Hermit on the Hill LitRPG Author Beta Reader Citizen Editor Aspiring Writer

96%
    xp:
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    I’d start with working your way through the entire Final Fantasy core numbered games (including X-2 and the XIII trilogy but skipping XI and XIV since they’re MMOs).

Then tackle NieR Gestalt for a taste of action RPGs before diving full tilt into the genre with the Bioware catalogue - yes, including DA2 and ME:A.