Audiobook audition advice?

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by B. Petersen, Jul 5, 2018.

1. B. Petersen

B. Petersen Level 3 (Apprentice) Citizen

50%
    xp:
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    Hi all, I'm brand new here. I can't wait to compare notes about all of my favorite books but I have one quick question.

I'm just starting to narrate audio books and my producer focuses mainly on technical books (I was a scientist and engineer so the big words aren't a problem for me) and erotica (I go all the way down to Barry White.) While I absolutely love reading, and I'm having tons of fun reading anything that comes my way, I would really love to do dramatic narration of litrpg novels. I've listened to at least 50 titles in the genre and am completely hooked.

So I have to make another audition tape. 3 minutes long. I need some kind of action scene with three or four characters from a book that hasn't already been narrated by a top-tier performer like Jeff Hayes. The problem is that I have no clear favorite. Okay, it's worse than that. I have no idea what scene I want to do and would find it infinitely easier if someone would just tell me.

Thanks for your help and I'm glad to have found this wonderful group.

Paul Bellow likes this.
  2. Paul Bellow

Paul Bellow Forum Game Master Staff Member LitRPG Author Shop Owner Citizen Aspiring Writer

100%
    xp:
    Zone:
    Midwest, US
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    Welcome aboard. Hopefully some authors who have done narration can help you out.

3. FrustratedEgo

FrustratedEgo Level 11 (Thief) LitRPG Author Roleplaying Citizen Aspiring Writer

52%
    xp:
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    I'm not sure how many are directly in this group.

I do know the GameLit Discord has a few that pop in to talk to.