Hi Everyone

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Jake Magnum, Oct 2, 2018.

1. Jake Magnum

Jake Magnum Level 3 (Apprentice) Citizen Editor

50%
    xp:
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    I'm pleased to meet you all.

I’ve been working as a proofreader/editor for almost four years. Just over a year ago, a client sent me a LitRPG to proofread. It was the first LitRPG I had ever read, and working on it it was the most enjoyable couple of weeks I had experienced in my professional life. Since then, I’ve worked on a couple of other books in this genre and have been reading others in my spare time.

I wish I had what it takes to write one of these (or just to write something worth reading at all), but I don’t think I have it in me. I don’t have the imagination for it. Still, I’d like to help authors of this genre in any way I can. I’ve recently reached a point in my career where I can be picky about what I proofread. So, I’ve decided to focus my efforts on helping indie LitRPG authors produce books that are not only full of interesting stories and exciting battles but that also have their spelling, punctuation, and grammar stats maxed out.

I thought I would mention quickly that my small company is giving all LitRPG authors 75% off their orders for the rest of 2018. As part of this promotion, one author will get up to 100,000 words proofread for free. (The winner of this prize will be the first author to place an order whose favorite Super Nintendo game is the same as mine.) It's a bit of fun, and it's a completely free shot at some free proofreading. You can have a crack at it here. Your book doesn't need to be ready right at the moment for you to place an order.

Anyway, "spamminess" aside, I’m glad to be a part of this community. I’m not much of a talker in real life. Once in a while, I'll say something, but I really prefer listening. So, you might not hear from me a ton, but I will be reading a lot of your posts during my time as a member here.

Cheers!