Stratus Online: Awakening Book 1

Discussion in 'All Things LitRPG' started by Bill89, Jul 23, 2018.

1. Bill89

Bill89 Level 3 (Apprentice) Citizen

50%
    xp:
    LitCoin:
    Zorkmid:
    Hello, Bill89 here,

This is my first time posting anything on this forum so please be gentle with me, I am quite tender. I wish to bring to everyone's attention a book that was released as an audiobook last month titled Stratus Online. I'll just copy/paste the description Audible.com has for the book here before following up with my own opinions;

"Edwin Morris has been playing Sakarn Online almost his whole life. In fact, most people have. While he considers himself a skilled player, he never could really find the time to take his game to the next level and pay the bills. After he is finally pushed over the edge with his job at Burger Planet, Edwin stumbles upon a man representing a game company called Stratus Labs.

Edwin is offered a lucrative position within the company to test and beat Stratus Online, an incredible, fully-immersive MMO designed to dethrone Sakarn Online. Edwin will have to unite with his friends and compete against other teams, but not everything is as it seems within Stratus Labs, and the stakes are much higher than he could have ever imagined.

With the clock ticking, will Edwin have what it takes to complete the seemingly insurmountable task of beating Stratus Online before it's too late?

Stratus Online: Awakening is the first book in a LitRPG series featuring awesome game mechanics, an epic high-stakes quest, and lots of legendary loot."

The story is narrated in first person, so the narrator stays in character as Edwin for the entire book. The narrator himself isn't that bad and his style helped me stay immersed in the story the whole way through. There is one character that I really enjoyed thanks to the narrator's performance.